Jesus’s Friends

When the hour came, he took his place at the table, and the apostles with him. He said to them, “I have eagerly desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer; for I tell you, I will not eat it until it is fulfilled in the kingdom of God.” Then he took a cup, and after giving thanks he said, “Take this and divide it among yourselves; for I tell you that from now on I will not drink of the fruit of the vine until the kingdom of God comes.” Then he took a loaf of bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body, which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.” And he did the same with the cup after supper, saying, “This cup that is poured out for you is the new covenant in my blood. But see, the one who betrays me is with me, and his hand is on the table. For the Son of Man is going as it has been determined, but woe to that one by whom he is betrayed!” Then they began to ask one another which one of them it could be who would do this.

Luke 22:14-23

I think that in our eagerness to understand the importance surrounding the Passover Meal and the symbolism involved, sometimes we forget that this was the last time Jesus had dinner with His friends. Yes, He was God, but He was also a man, and He loved the disciples very much. He knew He would suffer soon, and He was afraid, so He took comfort with His friends.

Sometimes life is hard. Sometimes God puts trials in front of you that no one can help you through. Nobody could suffer for Jesus, no one could die in His place. But even though your friends can’t take your trials away from you, they can provide comfort, counsel, and support. Notice how Jesus confides in His friends, telling them of His fears of dying, His sorrow in His friend’s betrayal. He doesn’t hold His anxiety inside the way so many of us try to do, they way I constantly do. He allowed His friends to help Him through it. Fear and sadness don’t make us weak, they make us human. Anyone who thinks less of you for your fears doesn’t understand their own. I know I personally need to trust my friends with my fears the way Jesus did, and let confiding in them take some of the weight from my heart. My heart is so heavy because I am so afraid. My friends would understand, and they would offer me comfort and ice cream. I should let them.

Note: I could go on and on about the importance of communion, but I have already done that and so has everyone else. To read what I wrote in Matthew about the Lord’s supper, click here.

This entry was posted in Luke and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

