Act Now

One of the dinner guests, on hearing this, said to him, “Blessed is anyone who will eat bread in the kingdom of God!” Then Jesus said to him, “Someone gave a great dinner and invited many. At the time for the dinner he sent his slave to say to those who had been invited, ‘Come; for everything is ready now.’ But they all alike began to make excuses. The first said to him, ‘I have bought a piece of land, and I must go out and see it; please accept my regrets.’ Another said, ‘I have bought five yoke of oxen, and I am going to try them out; please accept my regrets.’ Another said, ‘I have just been married, and therefore I cannot come.’ So the slave returned and reported this to his master. Then the owner of the house became angry and said to his slave, ‘Go out at once into the streets and lanes of the town and bring in the poor, the crippled, the blind, and the lame.’ And the slave said, ‘Sir, what you ordered has been done, and there is still room.’ Then the master said to the slave, ‘Go out into the roads and lanes, and compel people to come in, so that my house may be filled. For I tell you, none of those who were invited will taste my dinner.’”

Luke 14:15-24

This is really a continuation of what I read yesterday. Since it is aimed directly at the Pharisees, it doesn’t have too much to do with us. We are not the chosen people, we are the poor and the random people off the street. However, just like with yesterday’s passage, there is a warning that is relevant to modern believers.

Don’t put off making a big change for God in your life.

I’ve always kind of hated New Year’s Resolutions. I’m the kind of person that if I see a need to change I do it right away. Why wait to stop smoking for January 1st? Why  put off giving up swearing for several months? Just do it now! But when it comes to spiritual matters, making a change can be much more difficult. I’m really busy at work right now, I’ll start reading my Bible every night next month when things slow down. It’s election season, and the political atmosphere is too charged to stop saying unkind things. I’ll worry about that once the election is over. Christmas is so expensive, I can’t afford to give to the poor until the holiday season is over. But it’s the spiritual things that we just can’t afford to wait on! Judgement could come literally tomorrow. (Or you could die tomorrow.) What if you were waiting until next week to really give your life to God?

God calls us to action NOW. If He has put something on your heart or compelled you to action, don’t wait or you could end up procrastinating until the chance passes you by. I should  know. It’s happened to me plenty of times.

This entry was posted in Luke and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

