How To: Trust

Then Jesus called the twelve together and gave them power and authority over all demons and to cure diseases, and he sent them out to proclaim the kingdom of God and to heal. He said to them, “Take nothing for your journey, no staff, nor bag, nor bread, nor money—not even an extra tunic. Whatever house you enter, stay there, and leave from there. Wherever they do not welcome you, as you are leaving that town shake the dust off your feet as a testimony against them.” They departed and went through the villages, bringing the good news and curing diseases everywhere.

Now Herod the ruler heard about all that had taken place, and he was perplexed, because it was said by some that John had been raised from the dead, by some that Elijah had appeared, and by others that one of the ancient prophets had arisen. Herod said, “John I beheaded; but who is this about whom I hear such things?” And he tried to see him.

Luke 9:1-9

I have always struggled with trust. I have a very hard time trusting people, and I even struggle to trust God. I want to put my st in Him rather than myself, but I don’t feel like I know how to.

Jesus has an interesting solution to this problem. He send the disciples out with nothing. He kind of forces them to trust God’s plan for them. And if the disciples don’t n trust and think they’ll probably either die or fail (or both!), when everything they need is provided for them they will learn to trust.

So I guess the way to learn to trust is to not wait until you feel trusting, but to just jump in! Even if it’s scary and you’re pretty sure things won’t work out, just do it. Maybe trust isn’t a feeling but an action. Maybe trust isn’t something t just comes with time. Maybe it’s something you can only learn by doing.

The passage about Herod is interesting, partly because it isn’t in any of the other gospels, and partly because I don’t think it’s ever resolved. I don’t think Herod ever DOES meet Jesus or find out who He is. So why did Luke want us to know that Herod was interested in Jesus? I don’t really know, but I think maybe so we could see how far-reaching Jesus’s ministry was.

This entry was posted in Luke and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How To: Trust

  1. Pingback: You Don’t Have to Have it All Together | Understanding the New Testament

Leave a Reply

