Jesus: NOT Beelzebul

Then they brought to him a demoniac who was blind and mute; and he cured him, so that the one who had been mute could speak and see. All the crowds were amazed and said, “Can this be the Son of David?” But when the Pharisees heart it, they said, “It is only by Beelzebul, the ruler of the demons, that this fellow casts out the demons.” He knew what they were thinking and said to them, “Every kingdom divided against itself is laid waste, and no city or house divided against itself will stand. If Satan casts out Satan, he is divided against himself; how then will his kingdom stand? If I cast out demons by Beelzebul, by whom do your own exorcists cast them out? Therefore they will be your judges. But if it is by the Spirit of God that I cast out demons, then the kingdom of God has come to you. Or how can one enter a strong man’s house and plunder his property, without first tying up the strong man? Then indeed the house can be plundered. Whoever is not with me is against me, and whoever does not gather with me scatters. Therefore I tell you, people will be forgiven for every sin and blasphemy, but blasphemy against the Spirit will not be forgiven. Whoever speaks a word against the Son of Man will be forgiven, but whoever speaks against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven, either in this age or in the age to come.”

Matthew 12:22-32

I love how Jesus hits the Pharisees with logic. Jesus was a lot of things, but I think we forget sometimes that He was really freaking smart! It’s so ironic to me that many people try to use logic in order to debunk religion, when here Jesus himself teaches us to use logic in order to determine that He is right. I mean, look at this logical progression!
1. A house divided against itself won’t stand.
2. If I was a demon casting out demons that would be a house divided. I would only be hurting myself.
3. If I’m not a demon, I must have the holy spirit (much like your exorcists).
4. Because only the Holy Spirit has that much power over demons; the power to tie up the strong man, as it were.

And really, there are so many logical arguments that point to Christianity as truth. That’s why many great thinkers, like C.S. Lewis, became Christians. Jesus teaches us an incredibly important lesson here: Think for yourself! It will make your faith stronger!

“Whoever is not with me is against me.” I’m experiencing this in my personal life right now. Someone who is actively scattering. And she asks me, “If God really loves me, why would He send me to Hell?” The answer is right here. God will forgive a multitude of sins. It doesn’t matter how many, or how bad they are; even insulting Jesus can be forgiven. But God cannot forgive you for denying Him. If you say He does not exist, or that you don’t want Him, He will give you exactly what you want. You will be separated from Him eternally, just like you wanted. THAT’S what Hell means, I think, not necessarily a place where Lucifer tortures you with fire eternally. Being separated completely from God. But I think Jesus is going to talk more about the nature of Hell later.

This entry was posted in Matthew and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

